Northern Land Council rolls out COVID-19 travel advice in language, with Kriol first off the block

Date: Jun 30, 2021

Publication Type: Media Releases

Subject: Permits, Coronavirus

Download file

In a rapid response to the emerging COVID-19 concerns in the Northern Territory the Northern Land Council has produced new material in the Kriol language, spoken throughout much of the southern parts of the NLC area.

NLC CEO Marion Scrymgour praised the efforts of the workers at the Meigim Kriol Stronbala program who prepared the translation: “The Meigim Kriol Strongbala mob have provided a really quick turnaround to a call by the NLC’s Executive Council to get information out to our mob in their own languages in this very urgent situation”.

“We’ve learnt from our experience when the COVID-19 pandemic hit in 2020 that people out bush need straight forward information in their own languages,” Ms Scrymgour said.

NLC Chairman Samuel Bush-Blanasi said: “It is very important that we react quickly in these situations. We’ve been working closely with the NT government and the other Top End Land Councils and we all need to work together to get the message out that the best place for our mob is at home on country, and for them to look after themselves and their families”.

“The message is clear: ‘Stay Safe, Stay on Country and Care for Family’,” said Mr Bush-Blanasi.

The Kriol language version of the NLC’s latest Travel Advisory about access to and from the Greater Darwin area and Aboriginal Land in the Top End was prepared by the Meigim Kriol Strongbala program, which is operated by the Yugul Mangi Development Aboriginal Corporation at Ngukurr in the Roper River region.

Further material in other Northern Territory Aboriginal languages is being prepared for release shortly.

In 2020 the NLC created 18 videos in the following Top End and central Australian languages: Anindilyakwa; Alyawarr; Anmatyerr; Western Arrarnta; Westside Kriol; Kunwinjku; Maung; Pintupi; Gurindji; Central Arrernte; Warumungu; Modern Tiwi; Pitjantjatjara; Burarra; Eastside Kriol; Murrinh-Patha; Warlpiri; and Yolngu Matha.